Chelsea 2019

Hi all as the owner of a new garden and being a complete novice and having the opportunity to go to Chelsea today I thought it was an the perfect way to get some ideas and talk to some experts, oh my what an amazing show I was just totally blown away how people can build and do such amazing things.
The marque was just stunning and the scent so powerful.
I had just the most fantastic time met some amazing people and spent quite a lot of money I might add.
Is anyone else going I would love to know your thoughts.
One thing one very nice gentleman explained to me was to remember that all the planting and flowers were mostly false in that they would not be in flower at this time of year if they were growing in my garden and that they had been manipulated to be in flower now  :/

So lesson learnt what you see is not necessarily what you get  :)

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 13,887

Also some of the gardens are incredibly expensive!

I haven't been for years, just the wrong time to leave my garden in France. But I enjoy watching it on TV. At least that way you don't get the crowds.

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 3,750

Nice to hear from you again @Philomena K. How's your garden looking now?

Chelsea is great fun, quite expensive and very crowded but I'd love to go every year.

I like what I've seen of the show gardens on TV so far, very green and quite restful.

• Philomena KPhilomena K Posts: 52
    Hi Lizzie it's a bit of a dirt patch just now most of the paths are in and around the building and the sun terrace and pool are just about complete and internally they are well into decoration and second fix  :)

I agree Chelsea is fun and not to many people there today. I joined the RHS today and brought tickets for Hampton Court so something to look forward to in a few weeks.

• PosyPosy Posts: 1,653