Cleared bramble garden

Hi, We have just moved into a house with a garden that was covered in bramble-up to 20 feet high. They have been removed, the soil turned over and the roots, as far as I can tell, removed. I am keen to start a wildflower patch, and I understand that will need low nutrient soil.
Will the brambles have sucked all the life out of the soil, leaving it suitable for wildflowers? 
We will be laying turf in the next few weeks - should I leave the patch I want to use bare?
I am, by the way, a complete novice... Thanks in advance. 

• UpNorthUpNorth South Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK Posts: 305
    Hi Elu and welcome to the forum.  

my first thought is that you really should leave that ground now, exposed to warmth and rain, to watch the remaining bramble come back.  The notion that you definitely removed every bit of the roots, is noble, but probably flawed.  It's very probable you have (as would anyone) severed some roots, and those roots will be back as a new bramble in a few weeks, maybe a month at this time of year, very most.

keen as you are to proceed, waiting is by far and away the best thing to do.  If not, you'll end up destroying your new seedlings you do want, whilst trying to remove the fast growing bramble that will once again dominate the area unless you remove it.

as for 'wildflower patch' it's not my thing but almost certainly someone else here will come along with some advice.
    Bramble has rhizomatous roots, so if you leave a tiny bit in the ground, it will regrow.  I speak from experience of a few hundred square metres of bramble and I found a glysophate weedkiller necessary.  
  • DampGardenManDampGardenMan Posts: 1,057
    @islander may have a good point. Not digging it out would avoid turning one root into many, and thus into potentially many new plants? I've been chopping (with a mattock) and pulling for the last couple of years and the damn things are still coming back.
  • elu439elu439 Posts: 6
    UpNorth said: