What to fill a raised bed with?

I’m sure this is a commonly asked question so apologies.
I’m new to vegetable growing...can I fill a raised bed with multipurpose compost? 
Also should I remove the turf or just put cardboard down? 

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 18,170
    Have you simply made a raised bed on top of grass?   How deep and what size?

I think a mix of John Innes no 3 loam based compost with some multi purpose compost would be better than just MPC which, in my experience, is low in nutrients and inclined to get claggy when wet or shrink when dry.

Then what you grow will depend on where you are and what you like to eat.  I tend to grow crops which are expensive to buy or hard to find but I also have loads of space so can pretty well plant anything I like.  In more limited space you need to concentrate on stuff which tastes better freshly picked and/or is hard to find or costs a fortune or doesn't store well.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • suyinkansuyinkan Posts: 9
    edited 28 April
    Thanks for the reply!
    I have plastic link-a-bord raised beds... 1.4m square, one is 15cm high and the other is 30cm. and yes they’re just placed on top of the grass at the moment. 
    l’ll be growing courgettes, kale and peas to start off with. 
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 18,170
    Others may disagree but that's quite a large quantity of compost to buy so you may want to see if you can get some topsoil delivered from a good source.   If not, a mix of John Innes loam based soil and up to 20% MPC for water retention.  If you have cardboard to cover the grass then lay it but otherwise it should be fine just covered in soil of compost.