Deep Shade alleyway, what can I do?

Hi everyone

I have this long alleyway down the side of my north facing house. It gets no direct sunlight at all. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or tips on what I could do with it? Maybe a fern garden, but I’m unsure if anything will grow. I’m a novice gardener at best so any help would be greatly appreciated! 

• KeenOnGreenKeenOnGreen Posts: 495
    The greenery on display is testament to the fact that some plants will grow there.  There are some lovely ferns, especially the evergreen ones (such as Dryopteris Erythrosora, Cyrtomium Fortunei), Epimediums, Hosta's, shade loving Geranium's (the Nodosum varieties), Cylamen.  Acer's would possibly do well too.  The main thing would be to make sure everything is well watered, as such narrow spaces tend to get less rainfall then a more open site.  I used to think shade was the worst thing you could have, I would love to have such a space in our (sun-baked) garden.  
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 24,447
    Hi Ellis - I take it you need to keep the woodstore?
    You could lift some, or all of the paviours so that you can plant directly into the ground, which would give you more scope for planting. The ground would need some restoring in terms of nutrition so that plants would get off to a good start, but they would need less maintenance. If you lift all the paving, you could then use a golden gravel to create a firm base in between the planting, and to help brighten up the area. Golds and whites, or pale colours, in particular are good in shade,as well as variegated foliage. Hostas, Euonymous and Heucheras are all plants which will do well. The latter two are evergreen, so that provides interest all year. Bulbs for late winter and early spring will also brighten it all up.