Help me with digging up a flower/weed bed to make way for my vegetable plot!

Hi all, I'm a newbie (so apologies for long post and enormous pictures)!  Could I have some advice on digging over our overgrown “flower bed” to put in some raised beds to grow vegetables?  I could do with some pointers on if I am going about this the right way….

As on the photo, from left the right: the flower bed has a green plant that I can’t identify at the top end, then an area I have started digging, a carpet of forget-me-nots, dandelions, some herbs and spiky plants hidden within and (bluebells/white bluebells?) at the end.

So I have started digging an area with a garden fork but am coming across this green plant that has a stringy root that is quite deep seated, I am worried the digging is breaking the root up more and may stimulate more growth, so should I stop digging and use a weedkiller on the leaves and dig that when it has died off?

There are lots of forget-me-nots which I find pretty so I have transplanted some to the other parts of the garden, then I suddenly wondered if I was doing the right thing as there seems to be a carpet of these and am now worried that they are too intrusive.  They are the type with rounded leaves and shallow roots so maybe I can just pull them if they get too greedy.

I have a sparse border out front and was thinking of transporting some forget-me-nots into there and also the (bluebells / white bells) at the end of the bed, but can these be invasive too?  I don’t want to spread problems around the rest of the garden.

Can anybody advise on what this green plant is and how best to dig it out?

Should I  transplant the forget-me-nots / bluebells or bin them?

Thank you

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 4,201
    edited 14 April