Pebble pond in raised planter

Hi,
I'm new to gardening and forums but I hope people in here can give me some advise on both ☺
I am building a raised pond and will be building a planter with waterfall on the back of it (similar to the photo). My idea is to have that whole planter as the reservoir for the waterfall into the main pond, with the water being pumped on to a pebble bed, running into the planter which I hope to have some nice plants in gravel.
My concern is that the subbase/soil for the plants will make the water dirty and make the main waterfall and pond dirty. 

Has anyone got or done something like this, that would like to share advise on how to go about it? Or should I just keep it simple and pump into the waterfall reservoir and keep the planter as a dry bed?
Any advice would be very much appreciated.
Thanks.

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 14,864
    edited 14 April
    Sorry, no photo visible. Click on the little icon that looks like a TV screen just above the box where you type a comment and follow instructions.

https://forum.gardenersworld.com/discussion/1010384/how-to-upload-a-picture-or-embed-other-media

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • pgamwellpgamwell Posts: 9

Aha! Sorry, here is the photo.
    Good. Sorry to be a bit dim, but the planter is the long thin bit and the pond is the big bit, yes?
    😊 yes, that's right.
    Ok, and the ultimate aim of making the pond is to: Keep fish? Grow fancy aquatics? Admire oneself in the crystal clear water? Other?
    All of the above! 😁
    A few fish, some nice water lillies, and some nice shallow water pond plants in the planter with the waterfall.
     It’s a bit difficult to get an idea of scale from the photo. Can you say roughly how long, wide and deep the pond is and what it is lined with to make it watertight?