Forum home Problem solving

Forest Pansy looking sad

Hi all! Was wondering if anybody would be able to help me diagnose what’s happening with my Forest Pansy. I’m a total gardening noob, so excuse me if I sound ignorant. 

The tree was bought in January in a 10” pot and looked quite healthy. It was planted in February in a raised garden bed in premium top soil. Watered every day for a couple of weeks as it was planted in summer. Now it seems to be looking a little sad... I have checked the soil with a meter and it is quite damp, which leads me to think I’ve watered it too much? Any ideas? 

• LoxleyLoxley NottinghamPosts: 4,976
    edited April 2019
    Whereabouts are you? Is that spot a bit of a heat trap - looks like it might be too baking hot for it. 

And it looks like the bark has been scraped off the stem just above soil level. 
  • gootzagootza Posts: 20
    WillDB said:
    Whereabouts are you? Is that spot a bit of a heat trap - looks like it might be too baking hot for it. 

And it looks like the bark has been scraped off the stem just above soil level. 
    I am from Shepparton a country town in Victoria, Australia and yes this summer was ridiculously hot! So is that just leaf burn you think? Yes I noticed the bark looks as though it’s been scraped.. 
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,269
    WillDB said:

.....  And it looks like the bark has been scraped off the stem just above soil level. 
    I agree that does look worrying ... a better photo of that area would be helpful.
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

WillDB said:

.....  And it looks like the bark has been scraped off the stem just above soil level. 
    I agree that does look worrying ... a better photo of that area would be helpful.
    Here are a couple more photos of the stem. Sorry about the quality it’s night time here atm. 
    WillDB said: