Do my tomato seedlings look leggy?

taylorbeelertaylorbeeler Posts: 8
edited 29 March in Fruit & veg
From what I can gather on the internet, they don't look so bad.. but I'm not a professional and these are my first seedlings I've ever tried to grow.. so I ask you guys, are they leggy?

I have them under a LED grow light, linked here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07HK3HPRR/ref=yo_ii_img?ie=UTF8&psc=1

And they seem to be doing fine so far.. but in case they need more light I did buy an LED bulb with 3300k today from Rural King.. should I add that light as well you think?

Thanks!!

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 54,437
    They do look a big leggy to me I’m afraid ... they need more light. 
    Are they on a heated mat or similar? If so I’d turn the heat off now that they’ve germinated ... as long as the ambient temperature doesn’t drop below 10C
    theyll be ok. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,827
    the plus side with tomatoes is you can pot them on a lot deeper than most seedlings, so you can bury the leggyness
  • purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 1,774
    Repotting deeper actually seems to make a stronger plant in the end as roots grow from the buried stem. Now you have them growing well they could be potted on into individual pots, putting 3/4 of the stem below ground level, then put them in natural light if you can. Don't worry you seem to be doing ok 🙂
  • barry islandbarry island Posts: 734
    You don't need artificial light for seedlings anymore, if you have a greenhouse there are enough daylight hours for tomatoes which is more beneficial than grow light would be. Take the tomatoes out of the dark and into the daylight and your problem will be solved.
  • barry islandbarry island Posts: 734