Seed Advice for a Complete Novice :)

Hi, I have purchased a few packets of seeds, some perennials (Lychnis Coronaria/Delphiniums/Thalictrum) and some annuals (Ammi Majus).

I am just a bit confused about the whole process and was hoping for some rough guidelines.

I have potting compost, potting grit, seed trays with see through plastic covers, a south facing window in my kitchen, a shed with a window and one of those plastic mini greenhouses.

I generally prefer to sow in seed trays where possible and I try to follow the instructions on the packets, like which ones require heat/light.

So... my general process will be:
  1. Fill seed tray (Modular Seed Tray for bigger seeds) with leveled potting compost
  2. Sow seed and then water from below
  3. Cover with thin layer of grit unless instructions state require light to germinate
  4. Put on plastic lid and leave on kitchen window sill. Keep moist with water spray.
  5. Wait until seed germinates and then remove plastic lid
  6. Wait until first pair of "true" leaves emerges then prick out if in seed tray
  7. At this point should I move the seedlings to my mini greenhouse/shed to grow on or will it be too cold?
  8. Then when big enough after a few weeks, start to harden off by moving outside gradually for up to a week

Does that sound roughly the right idea?

I think my main confusion arises around when to take the plastic lid off and when/where to move from my kitchen to the mini greenhouse/shed. Unless I can leave all my ungerminated seed trays in the mini greenhouse from start to finish? Or is a coldframe better for this job?

Thanks!

• PurplerainPurplerain Posts: 845
    edited 26 March
    You are doing everything right, but I would hold back on the perennials until July/August and overwinter where possible.