Pollinator recommendations

I'm fairly new to gardening and would like your advice please. I have a border to a lawn 5 metres long that runs north/south on the west side of a tall beech hedge, so only getting sun after midday. I want to fill this border with colourful pollinating plants. I want these to put on a good show asap and through the summer. Your suggestions please.
Trying to bring more wildlife into the garden.

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 4,610
    A photo of the area would probably help us get an idea of what you're working with.
    Pollinators are flowers, single flowers or semi-doubles will let bees get to the pollen, fully double flowers make it difficult for bees to get to the pollen.

Great pollinators in my garden include
    Veronicastrum - so overrun with bees the tops bend and the bees even seems to sleep on the flowers.
    Cotoneaster - in summer there are so many bees on the flowers it sounds like an electricity sub-station
    Agastache, salvias, sunflowers, heliopsis, helianthium - there's an almost endless list depending on what you want from your garden
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • This is my first year even growing legal flowers :wink:  Except last year I helped my parents in their garden and made it look the best it ever has done. I'm growing pollinators to attract bees as well as look good. Phacelia is supposed to be a good one which attracts lots of bees. They grow it in vineyards to attract bees and it's an annual kind. I'm growing echinops as well which is a perrenial and also attracts lots of bees too by the seems of it.

I'm a newbie too basically. Are you after something small or big? Annual or perrenial? How much sun and space do you have etc?
  • pete2112pete2112 Posts: 5
    Thanks for your suggestions. :)