Bumpy lawn- Absolute beginner

isthiaqaisthiaqa Posts: 4
Hi everyone
my very first post and I have just started to give my garden some thought after moving into a new house recently.
My first task is to tackle a bumpy lawn. It has quite a few dips in the lawn. It is on a slight slope as well. 

So im thinking maybe either fill the dips with some soil and to skim off the grass where there are larger bumps in the lawn, and level out like this.

is this the correct approach?

also, should I leave the existing grass or just turn it all to soil? And then should I plant grass seed or lay a lawn turf?

apologises if none of this makes sense or is the completely wrong approach to take. Like I said I’m an absolute beginner and would appreciate any help. I can snap some pictures as well to post here if that helps. 

Thanks in advance to all. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 51,379
    Hello :) Could you show us some photos please .... then we’ll have some idea of the sort of lumps and bumps we are challenged with, as well as the general state of the grass, which will help us decide on options available. 

To upload photos click on the little ‘landscape’ icon above the text box. If your pics won’t upload reducing their size usually works.  :)
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• isthiaqaisthiaqa Posts: 4

Here are some pics 
    Hello :) Could you show us some photos please .... then we’ll have some idea of the sort of lumps and bumps we are challenged with, as well as the general state of the grass, which will help us decide on options available. 

To upload photos click on the little ‘landscape’ icon above the text box. If your pics won’t upload reducing their size usually works.  :)
    Thanks for taking time to have a read!
    ive attached some pics now 😊
    Hello again @isthiaqa ... sorry ... somehow this slipped off my radar :flushed: