I'll let the photo do the talking...

Need I say more...?

Seriously, though - does anyone have any ideas as to a practical drainage solution that can carry surface water out of my garden so I don't wake up to this again?  Any companies or people who can figure out how to install drainage that can carry water up a slope and away, since the garden slopes away from the house, both neighbours have gardens built up above ours and are likely sending water our way.

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 1,112

I'm no expert but I would think the water will always find the lowest point, so that's where you would need to install drains.  Maybe something that could channel water to where your guttering drains to?

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 53,167
    edited 14 March
    But where are the drains going to lead to?  In most places you can’t pipe surface water into the main drains so .... ? 🤷‍♀️ 

Neighbours to to the left look like the pitch will be unplayable this weekend 🥅 ⚽️ 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Mmm, that's an idea - I'm just wary of legal issues regarding surface water drainage, so if I can avoid connecting to any existing drain in a way that won't break the bank (or the laws of physics) I'll grab it with both hands
  • But where are the drains going to lead to?  In most places you can’t pipe surface water into the main drains so .... ? 🤷‍♀️ 

Neighbours to to the left look like the pitch will be unplayable this weekend 🥅 ⚽️ 
    Surface water has to drain to either a combined sewer or to the road - that's what I'm doing as I type, pumping the accumulated water through a 1" diameter hose to the road drains...

@Dovefromabove, I didn't know that!  Not sure what's the difference between rain that falls on the roof and rain that falls on the ground, particularly if it's hard landscaping.