Raised Bed Question/s

Rob2904Rob2904 Posts: 2
Hello, newbie here; first post. I’m a newbie both to this forum and also gardening more generally.

I want to make the most effective and efficient raised bed for growing that I can. 

About beds in general: when looking at a bed or design, what kind of measures/variables can I look for to assess it’s effectiveness? Say: any measures of growth in vegetables, factors that influence success/growth of vegetables?

About the height of beds: what height, or height range, is the most efficient and effective?
I read previously about a minimum of 6” from one source, and 8-12” or more on another. This kind of ties in with my first question. Are there reasons for these different height recommendations, like factors that influence growth?

Climate question: does my local environment condition factor into design when building a bed? I’m living in Kent, South East England, UK.

Hope I posted in the right forum section here, and that these questions make sense!

Many thanks!

• DampGardenManDampGardenMan Posts: 895
    Kent's pretty dry, yes?, so you'll spend a lot of time watering in the summer. To that end make sure you have plenty of organic matter in whatever you fill the beds with.

As to height, I asked the question a little while ago on here and 9" seemed to be the answer. That fits well with using two 6"x1" planks for the sides. That was for growing (mostly) herbs. For vegetables you might need to be a lot deeper, for example for carrots.

I'll be using treated wood, so I worried about what might leach into the soil and thus the plants and thus me! Line with plastic was the answer to that one. Of course I'd like to build it from oak sleepers, but they're pretty pricey!
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 2,585
    edited 5 March