Advice needed laying a lawn.

Hello, it would be wonderful if I could get some advice. I am new to both gardening and forums so I apolgise if this post is something asked often or in the wrong place.

I moved into our house last year and whilst the inside was renovated, the back garden took a back seat.

The garden was completely over grown when the property was brought, the lawn was mostly weeds. So I have mowed and trimmed all back. I dug up a concrete raised lawn bed in the far left corner and there was an old patio buried next to it about a foot down so that came up.

In the photo attached you can see it's a small square garden roughly 6 metres by 12 metres.

I have soaked the garden in Glyphoaste to kill it all in a bid to rid the old before the new.

So what I need in advice is this. I intend to lay a new lawn from seed. This is my plan, remove dead lawn, dig down around 2 feet with fork and turn over. Leave and see if any growth comes through (2 weeks), glyphosate or dig out. Break the soil down with a rake removing any stones, do I need a top soil after this and what would be my next course of action.  That could all be wrong so any and all advice is welcome I will update through the course of the project.

Thankyou in advance.

• DampGardenManDampGardenMan Posts: 1,057
    Which way does your garden face and how much sun will the lawn get? What type of soil do you have? Is the drainage any good?

You might struggle to get a good lawn going as it looks like it will be pretty shaded by those fences.
  • The garden is south south easterly facing (I think) the garden gets plenty of sun, that photo was taken at about 11am.

The garden is very slightly sloped away from the house I haven't had or seen any issues with water sitting on the grass.

I don't know the answer to the soil type. I guess this is something i will need to find out?
  • DampGardenManDampGardenMan Posts: 1,057