Newbie here!

Hi everyone

I'm new to gardening since we decided to give ours a makeover last year so still very much learning as I go. 
We have sectioned off half off part of the garden to keep our four legged flower destroyers out lol, so the grass is starting to make a come back too. We cut in a border and began to plant, as well as digging an enormous pond (by hand). 

Unfortunately due to how hot it was last summer the pond took a lot longer than we thought, and still isn't finished. The liner is in and we've put in some of the rockery but still have a long way to go with it. Hoping to have it all sorted by the spring and I can start planting.

My bulbs have started to come up and there are lots of new growth on last years plants coming through so I can't wait for my garden to be full of colour again. Looking forward to seeing how everyone else is getting on this spring/summer and watching your gardens come to life :) 

I've included some pictures from last year along with a couple of my bulbs popping up today!

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 16,405
    Hi Rachel and welcome.  Lovely clematis but I suggest you give them extra supports to grow along as they do tend to gain in vigour each year, especially if well fed and pruned at the right time.   

That pond is huge and should be a great wildlife resource when finished.   Make sure you have a shallow beach end or some sort of ladder/log for any critters to escape again.  Even frogs and toads need to be able to climb out and hedgehogs and dogs too.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • Thanks for the reply Obelixx! 
    I'll be sure to add some more support for the clematis thank you. And yes, you can't see from the photos but there is a shallow beach/slope area at one side of the pond. For birds to bathe and for wildlife to get out :)  
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 16,405