Forum home The potting shed

Help!!

Hello I have spent some time reading different discussions and I'm sure that I'm in the right place to get all the help I need. 

I have recently inherited a small farm 53 acres most of the land has a tenant using it for his sheep not a problem.

But I have no gardening experience at all I'm young and still at Uni,

I'm looking for ideas advice of where to start I like the idea of cottage garden mixed veg and flowers and also wild flower meadow, I also want to be organic, Where do I would you start the plot is generally south facing but wraps right around the property so a bit of each.

Sorry forgot to mention it's East Sussex also has a pond and woods  :/

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 6,928
    edited February 2019
    Hi Philomena,  what a beautiful property !  My first advice would be (as l'm a bit older than you :) ), is take it steady. I would start nearest to the house and work outwards, that way you can see the progress you are making, and be encouraged. You can certainly mix your veg in with the flowers, but you might like to consider a proper veg patch, fairly near to the kitchen door if that's pretty sunny. I could go on and on, but first thing is, do you know what the soil is like ? Oh yes, and welcome to the forum,  you will get lots of advice  :)
  • NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen SpainPosts: 3,686
    What a lovely place! I would think your first task is to start strimming and chopping all that rampant growth around the house, especially anything growing too close that might be undermining the foundations or affecting the brickwork. There may be some shrubs and climbers there you want to keep, but until things are in flower (could that be a wisteria growing up the pole next to the balcony?) its difficult to know what everthing is this early in the year and what you might want to keep. Come back to us later on with close-up photos of individual plants if you want an ID for anything