Low maintenance plant suggestions for a shaded area

Alandawes1Alandawes1 Posts: 4
Hi all.

im relatively new to gardening after getting my own place but I want to make it look the best I can.

I have an area in a driveway about 2.5m square, it has fencing to the back and left and the hour to the right so only gets about 2 hours of sunlight a day as it passes down the side of the house. 

Could anyone suggest to me any plants shrubs that would be suited to this?

I like the look of heathers and have been pondering the idea of a small bed of them but I’m not sure they will have enough sunshine.

thanks

Alan

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 939
    I think heathers are better in a more open area (thinking about where the wild kinds grow).
    Do you know what the soil is like? Wet/moist/dry, acid/alkaline? This affects what will grow well there.
    A picture would help us to come up with some suggestions.
  • Alandawes1Alandawes1 Posts: 4

I think in that area I'd go for small-ish evergreen shrubs and include something variegated - maybe things like skimmia, euonymus, vinca minor - with a mulch of either large gravel or slate. 
    But it really depends on the soil type, and on what you like and how much time you want to spend on it in the long term.
    After a google I do like the look of the vinca minor, if I were to plant this should I buy a few a plant them apart a for a chance to spread out into each other? Or would one or 2 be sufficient? 

Sorry to sound so clueless 

thank you
    I'd go for several.  Mine each took several years to settle in and cover the ground, but I have very dry sandy soil which is less than ideal for them - they might do better for you. Vinca minor is very low to the ground so if you want a bit of height you'd need to include something else as well.
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 2,534