Is rooftop gardening possible?

Hey friends,

I have a relative that manages parking garages downtown and we've been having discussions about an urban garden on unused roofs of a garage. I'm new to gardening, only started last summer, so I'm hoping people here can lend their knowledge to what could be a pretty cool nonprofit project! 

The project would be in smack downtown Indianapolis, 7 floors up. The roof is 100% exposed to sunlight. We can have access to the building and elevators to tend to the gardens, transport water, etc. as much as necessary. Is there a reason this wouldn't work?

As far as the actual gardens, our favorite idea so far is to build Ikea Growroom spheres (Google Ikea growroom) right on the roof. They might need to be customized, or we can also use typical planter boxes depending on what we grow. If you think the spheres are a no-go I'm completely open to hearing alternate ideas.

All produce will feed food-insecure kids at inner city schools!

If any seasoned gardeners are willing to give input on why "rooftop farming" may or may not work I'd be very grateful. Before it moves any further I want to think through all the potential problems. And if you'd like to contribute more or join the team please don't hesitate to message me!

Thanks!

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 616

You'd need to check that the roof is strong enough to take the extra weight.  If it was only designed to keep the sun and rain off the cars, it might not be. If it once had parking spaces up there, then it'll most likely be OK (many UK multi-level car parks have a parking level on the top but I don't know what's the norm there, sorry).

If you were in the UK I'd also say check with the local council to see if you need planning permission, but I don't know whether that would apply to you.