Replacing lawn with gravel

Hi,

Apologies in advance if my question sounds stupid, i'm a novice!

My wife and I recently bought our first house together (previously rented!), the front of which has a garden and a narrow driveway, we want to widen the driveway by pulling up some of the lawn adjascent to it and laying some gravel down - I just wanted to know whether you think I may find any problems with doing it whilst the ground is still wet? The plan is to dig up the lawn, lay a heavy duty fabric membrane and then lay the gravel on top of this? Just conscious we will be parking a car on it?

Thanks in advance!

James

• raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 3,004
    It depends what sort of topsoil there is under the grass. If you have nice deep loamy soil it'll compact under the weight of the car. Wet or dry probably doesn't make much difference. The gravel will probably move about and even it out - depends how much it sinks and how much gravel you have - how deep. If you have clay and builders rubble, it'll probably be fine. Best option, if you can, would be to lift the turf, put down some hardcore or 'scalpings' and get a 'whacker plate' on it - you can hire them from tool hire places. Compact it down nice and firm, then put your membrane down and gravel over it.

Two things though: gravel will stick to your car tyres and track onto the road. If there's a pavement, you will get gravel migrating onto the pavement which is treacherous for pedestrians. The Council may have bylaws to say you are responsible for stopping it happening, or if not, people may complain and you'll be told to do something about it. And gravel has to be weeded - weed seeds see it as a perfect germinating medium.
    You might want to consider either something like 'grid pave' (other similar products are available) which reduces the tendency of gravel to move, or using a bonded gravel of some sort. Both options are fairly expensive though.