Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Ideas for this yard

jillandpeterjillandpeter Posts: 10
edited January 2019 in Garden design
Can anyone suggest what would be best for covering this wall which is old? I have very little gardening experience however my ideas were a fast climbing clematis or if possible a fast growing narrow hedge planted in the stoned area but I'm unsure what to plant.  In our old garden I grew lleylandi into a hedge but I need something with small roots. I'd be grateful of any suggestions.

• madpenguinmadpenguin Posts: 2,543
    Photo?  :)
    “Every day is ordinary, until it isn't.” - Bernard Cornwell-Death of Kings
  • I have tried to attach 3 photos but it's not working?
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139
    What a beautiful old wall  <3. Deep envy here. 

Rather than totally cover it with a solid hedge (which would also prevent any maintenance) I’d put some vine eyes and wires in and grow some beautiful climbing roses along  and up it ... think my personal preference would be for a selection of pale and deeper pinks with glossy foliage. 
    @Marlorena is very knowledgeable about roses ... hopefully she will see this and have some suggestions. 

Can you tell us which way the wall faces?

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• JennyJJennyJ Posts: 10,568
    I agree, it would be a shame to completely cover the wall.  Also any hedge that would get as high as the wall would need very frequent cutting to stop it encroaching on the driveway. It might be a good idea to check whether the wall needs repointing, and if so get that done first.
    Doncaster, South Yorkshire. Soil type: sandy, well-drained