Mistletoe

madpenguinmadpenguin Isle of WightPosts: 1,704
I have 2 cherry trees that could be good candidates for Mistletoe and would like to give it a go.
I read that you can 'plant' seeds on the tree in March/April.I can get these as there is a fair amount of Mistletoe around here,one which I passed this morning at head height so easily accessible!
Has anyone here tried growing Mistletoe with any success?
“Every day is ordinary, until it isn't.” - Bernard Cornwell-Death of Kings

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,073
    no, but I've tried without success several times. It's growing quite close to me and I keep hoping it will just tun up. I've been hoping for 25 years now :) 
  • madpenguinmadpenguin Isle of WightPosts: 1,704
    I may still just give it a go even if there is little likelihood of success!
    Nothing ventured and all that......!
    “Every day is ordinary, until it isn't.” - Bernard Cornwell-Death of Kings
  • nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,073
    It can be done, or so I'm told :)
    Both years I tried we had a very dry and hot summer, might have been different with more moisture
  • Singing GardenerSinging Gardener EssexPosts: 851
    I sowed about 50 berries 5 years ago on various trees and a year later they all seemed to have disappeared without trace. Last spring I was cutting back some brambles when I noticed a small, 2 leaf, mistletoe plant on one of the hawthorns I had used. Thrilled to bits I sowed another 50 last spring because I know I won't get berries unless I have male and female plants.

The area is fairly impenetrable during the summer because of the brambles but I revisited last week for the annual bramble trim and the first mistletoe now has 4 leaves and there is another 2 leaf plant higher up. A couple of the ones sown last year also show signs of life still in spite of the dry summer!
  • 1Runnybeak11Runnybeak1 Posts: 8,503