Forum home The potting shed

Waste Incineration - possible airborne toxins.

I have been gardening for the table at my present home for 30 years. now we are likely to have an incinerator 1/2 mile upwind. i'm concerned about toxins poisoning the air i breathe and poisoning the veg I grow. I grow apples, potatoes, onions, chard, spinach, brassica mainly. Is there any evidence of pollution affecting veg, and presumably the crops grown in the vicinity. I have heard of lowered live human births downwind of an incinerator in London.  

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,818
    edited January 2019
    I’m afraid that there are too many incineration systems and too many different products that can be incinerated by what method in any system to know what to say here.

If you live in England you could perhaps get some advice from the Environment Agency.
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • The Environment agency has issued their permit but it is being challenged in the appeal court. I'm follow your suggestion and ask them. Thanks for that. John
  • steephillsteephill Posts: 1,517
    Go back 50 years and the millions of open coal fires in the UK used to pump out vastly more truly toxic pollution than modern incinerators. If modern incinerators were as deadly as some claim we would all have died out a few generations ago. Leaving the waste to degrade in landfill also produces pollution. Where is it all going to go?

I won't claim that incinerators don't produce any pollution but modern plant has to meet high standards and is regularly monitored so its impact should be minimal - local traffic probably has a much higher impact. Risk assessment is something that almost all of us are very bad at but it is worth spending some time looking at it in detail.
  • Hampshire_HogHampshire_Hog Hampshire Coast 100m from the seaPosts: 1,089