Forum home Plants

Please help me make my fence less harsh

Hello there, thank you for reading my post.

I'm a beginner gardener just starting out on my journey, doing as much research as I can.

I have a fairly long narrow garden, typical of a Victorian terrace. On one side we are having deep borders but on the other we have a long straight path which butts up to the fence. We are trying to create a relaxed cottage garden so this long straight edge which no planting opportunities doesn't really go with the theme.

Does anyone have any suggestions of plants with some height or climbers that would work on a basic wooden fence which can be grown in a container that would also fit with a cottage garden? I'm not asking for much am I(?)! 

Thank you for reading and sorry if I'm asking a silly question.

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 SomersetPosts: 10,487
    Hello Hannah, welcome to the forum.  You could argue that a long straight path is the traditional look and therefore shouldn't be disguised. You will also find it jolly useful.
    You can plant most things in pots - the bigger the better, but were you planning to put them on the path? Don't forget that they will need a lot of watering in the summer.
    What you could do, is to lay paving stones at intervals at right angles to the path and then plant in front of the sticky out stones. This would soften the overall look. Another idea would be to cover the path (concrete I assume) with bark mulch but you would have to edge this with a wooden board along the whole length to stop it spreading sideways. 
  • Hi Lizzie,

Thank you for your reply. Yes I was planning to put them on the path - it's actually Cotswold stone chippings. I'm planning to put a bench half way down - with some pots around it. I know that seems silly as it's a path but it's not supposed to be completely functional (hard to explain!) and you would still be able to use it.

The paving stones idea is interesting, thank you.