Forum home The potting shed

Getting through the winter months sane

13»

• I always find something on the “ must do” list in my garden even in the cold depth of January, although today was dry so it’s was time to feed my addiction that is gardening 
    So just cleared away some mature Rudbeckia Goldsrum that had grown out in to other planting, Also the same to some Phlox plants. This will make an area for new planting 
    Also moved and resited 4 Crocosmia Babylon to make room for a new Floribunda rose I have ordered 
    So the gardening year rarely stops and start with me if the weather permits 
  • Paul B3Paul B3 Posts: 2,912
    As many of you may (or may not) be aware , I work as a full-time professional gardener , so the only limiting factor in what seems endless hours of work is the day-length at this time of year .
    I don't really mind the winter months ; stunning skies (sometimes) , and the not really knowing what's 'around the corner' climatically .
    The approaching onset of Spring really just means more work for me !
    The weeks pass very quickly when busy .
  • BijdezeeBijdezee BPosts: 1,348
    Thanks Obelixx, I will google those things you said. 
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 23,569
    If you can get to the plant fair at Beervelde you should find Kokopelli have a stall selling seeds for both ornamental and heritage veggies.  They also have a website cos May can be a bit late for sowing some seeds.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • I take hundreds of pics of the garden and plants every year and like to look through these in the quieter times, for encouragement and ideas:
    It looked great that year, I can do it sometimes!
    Love the tulips there
    I'd forgotten I grew those/ I wonder what happened to that?
    They look good together, must do that again
    Must move that/plant more of those/ get rid of that