Sweet million tomatoes, gardeners delight tomato tips

BlenkironBlenkiron Posts: 25
im going to be making a raised herb bed and thinking of adding sweet million and gardeners delight tomatos at the back... 

what sort of root depth do they have, also how much space will they need and are they a particularly bushy variety? 
Im a complete beginner in tomato’s so any advice is massively appreciated. 

The raised bed bed would be bottom less and be about 1ft high x 1ft wide x 4ft long

thankyou 

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 12,600
    I have always grown sweet million and gardeners delight as cordons. Pinch out all side shoots. Strap the main shoot to a stout cane.   A bed that size would be ample for two plants or your herbs but not both.  I grow tomatoes in large pots. Herbs require well drained conditions. Tomatoes like more water.
    Adventures before Alzheimers.
  • purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 884
    The tom plants would need to be central, back to front, to allow growth all round. Are they going to be in a sunny spot too as they need to bake somewhat. I think if you have room put the toms in garden tubs , the kind you use for bedding plants instead,  and grow salad or spring onions or even carrots in the raised bed as toms are greedy feeders and water hogs so wouldn't share well. Hope this helps.
  • chickychicky SurreyPosts: 7,820
    Like fidget, I grow GD as cordons in pots - roots don’t take up that much room and they get about 8ft tall before I stop them.  Prolific and very tasty 😋 
    We did not inherit the earth from our grandparents.  We’re borrowing it from our children.
  • BlenkironBlenkiron Posts: 25
    I have always grown sweet million and gardeners delight as cordons. Pinch out all side shoots. Strap the main shoot to a stout cane.   A bed that size would be ample for two plants or your herbs but not both.  I grow tomatoes in large pots. Herbs require well drained conditions. Tomatoes like more water.