lelyandii hedge

Hi All,

I’m a novice gardener and i’m after some advice please.

We currently have a small (say 2 foot in height) box hedge (i think it’s box hedge) in the front garden separateing us from our horrendous neighbours. i’m sure the hedge is ours and within the boundary of our property but it’s hard to tell exactly from the plans - although i’m looking into this with the local authorities. 

we want to replace the hedge with Lelyandii, to provide us with much much needed privacy - the intention being to keep them at a reasonable hieght of 6ft (below the height at which next door could complain to the council for it being a ‘high hedge’).

If, as I think / am worried about, the border line of the property runs down the centre of the existing box hedge (so i’m not able to remove this hedge) can i plant lelyandii ‘within’ the existing box hedge?

I am hoping that that I would be able to ‘cut’ into the box hedge - not all the way through, say half way - so to create a space, such that i could dig out a hole at the base of the hedge for the new lelyandii plant (potted plants say 1 metre in height) and provide new top soil / fertiliser as required?

I’d not have the hassle of removing the existing hedge and would over time gain a much higher hedge providing us with the privacy we’d like. 

Would the newly planted lelyandii take to being planted like this? Or is this idea doomed to failure?

does anyone have any other suggestion?

thanks for any help / advice you and offer,

Mark

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 18,782
    if the box hedge is yours, IMHO you'd be better to remove it, get some organic matter into the ground and plant the new hedge. If you don't , the new plants will be fighting for root space amongst the established hedge . 
    Devon.
  • Remember that a hedge has two sides, and your neighbours will not appreciate having to cut their side and the top several times a year - and Leylandii grow sideways very rapidly.