Newbie to orchid- do I have a fungus infection.

Hi All

Please bare with me, I am a newbie to orchids so I will apologise in advance if I am asking a stupid question 

I was gifted an orchid as a wedding gift back in sep 2017. Up until now I have managed to keep it alive, however recently I have noticed the leaves are started to look lifeless and turning yellow 

Please see attached pictures, do I have a fungus infection. If yes what is the best method to cure it? Clean cut and apply cinnamon?

I have also tried cutting the old stems and new stems are growing, have I done it correctly?

Also is there any good sites a newbie should visit, as the orchid is quite sentimental to me now.

Thanks in advance

Mai

• treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,809
    not fungal, but the wrinkled leaves mean its either thirsty or its been overwatered,
    how often do you water them and how?
    and what is around the roots as it should be fine bark chips and it looks like moss?
  • not fungal, but the wrinkled leaves mean its either thirsty or its been overwatered,
    how often do you water them and how?
    and what is around the roots as it should be fine bark chips and it looks like moss?

Thanks for replying,

i water the plants once a week with a spray bottle which as diluted orchid feed. how can i check if it is thirsty or overwatered?

you are correct there is moss on top of the bark chips, the reason why i left the moss there is because it came with the plant

is this incorrect?

thanks

Mai

edited 9 January
    they prefer a good dunking once a week, so totally submerge the plant pot underwater for 10 minutes then allow it to drain.
    i'd also remove the moss as the roots need some light

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 14,430
    edited 9 January
    If you imagine the orchid living in its natural habitat, it would be sitting in a tropical rainforest clinging to a tree trunk high up in the canopy.