How to start an allotment

I was surprised  to see no mention of Charles Dowding's 'No Dig' approach in this piece on the website. It does mention covering with cardboard but then  goes on to mention digging and double digging. I am new to this method but have seen results and have stared 'no dig' across all my raised beds. Always room for other approaches!

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 15,177
    Good luck to you.  We're heading this way in our new veg plot apart from first digging out major weeds with deep roots such as thistles.   

They've been trialing No Dig on Beechgrove and Jim is so pleased with the results so far they're extending it.  So far they have compared dig and no dig on established, previously cultivated veggie beds.  This coming season they're talking of doing it on unprepared ground.   The series should start again around the beginning of April on BBC2 on Sunday mornings - unless you can get the BBC Scotland and catch it on Thursday evenings.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • Stephanie HeadStephanie Head Posts: 3
    Thanks for getting back. Glad to hear more about it.
  • barry islandbarry island Posts: 505
    I would try the no dig method but it's easier and cheaper for me to dig the plot over than to procure or purchase tons of compost or manure each year.
  • Stephanie HeadStephanie Head Posts: 3
    I certainly haven't used tons of compost to give me a good layer. I use leaf mould and compost I have made in addition to bought compost. I suppose I look at it as an investment- once done I just need to add another layer each year . Appreciate it costs to buy compost but it certainly  makes best use of my time not to have to weed!
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 50,634