Help pruning fruit trees

robbusrobbus Posts: 3
Hi. I am very new to fruit and I haven't a good eye. I have a few fruit trees non of which look like the prunning diagrams in the books. I have no info  on virierty .Any help would be appreciated. First pic is a apple. Second is a plum. The third is a pear which 2 branches broke off the year before and most of the branches seem to hang down

• RubytooRubytoo On the sofa, Southerly aspect.Posts: 733
    edited December 2018
    Sorry I can't help with pruning, but it looks like in your first picture the tree trunk is being supported by a Y shaped stick?
    Sorry if it is not so or observed wrongly by me. But it won't be good for the trunk to be rubbed by a forked stick. Even if protected with something (black bits) it might wedge and rub.
    And the white cable ties?
    Sorry just asking so others who will help may comment in case they do not see them.

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your fruit trees :)
    Love your stone wall too behind the weeping pear.
  • robbusrobbus Posts: 3
    Yes it is supported at the mo. The apple tree was starting to lean very badley, I think because of the shade corsed by fig tree. Which will be pruned quite hard this year to let light into the apple tree. I don't like to use supports as I feel that they do Moore harm than good. But in this case just wontid to stop the tree reaching for the light untill I could correct that problem. White cable ties were allso trying to stop branch reaching for the light.
  • Market BoyMarket Boy Posts: 40
    Hi  I am far from an expert on this topic but this is what I do.
    Apples and Pears I will prune back just to keep a shape and to stop them
    getting too big. Keeping an eye out for a Fruiting Spur and not cutting beyond that.
    Plums are a different story all together. in 6 years I have only produced 1 Plum that was of any size. I have been told on this forum that plums grow on LAST YEARS growth.