Heuchera planting now?

Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 1,580
I bought 2 of the peachy/red heucheras in 2 litre pots from Hilliers last Sunday, which are currently sitting in the bottom of my small unheated greenhouse. My RHS book advises planting between autumn and spring, which I'm hesitating over. Am I right in thinking that this particular colourway is rather more delicate than the dark ones?  Is there a heuchera expert out there please. We face south, it's for the front border (but they will face east) and they will have some shelter behind them from the west.

• Fran IOMFran IOM Posts: 337
    I am no expert but heucheras are one of my favourite plants and of other members of the forum. I personally don't think the colour would make any difference. I have planted out a few recently and they have taken well. Someone else may have a different opinion. I'm sure you will have further posts.  :)
  • Joyce21Joyce21 Posts: 13,694
    My heucheras in various colours survive everything the weather throws at them.  Some are in the ground but most are in pots.
    SW Scotland
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 22,436
    Same as Joyce. There's no difference with the colours, and they'll take anything and everything. I certainly wouldn't have them in a greenhouse :)

Personally - as they're decent sized plants, I'd be splitting them and potting them up separately to give you more plants.  ;)

There's a gypsy down on Bleecker Street
    I went in to see her as a kind of joke
    And she lit a candle for my love luck
    And eighteen bucks went up in smoke

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 1,580
    Thanks for the advice folks, I think I'll plant one out and split the other and pot them on for the time being as advised. I'm being a bit cautious I know, but other splittings haven't gone too well and the smaller plants took ages to get going.