Forum home Problem solving

Tree for the garden

Hello there, This is my first time using this forum. Gardening has become my new hobby my wife would say my new passion! I am in the process of picking a tree that I would like to plant in my garden.I would ideally like a tree that will not grow more than 4 metres high. I have a south facing garden so the tree will have full sun. I would really appreciate ideas and advise as I want to get this right first time. Any suggestions welcome. :) What type of tree would you recommend?

• BorderlineBorderline Posts: 4,640
    Lucky you... I admire trees when visiting places, passing places and always take photos of special trees. Choosing a tree may take some time, so I'm sure many will give you their personal choices. There are so many trees you can choose from. Think about the look you want. Some cast more shade than others, some are just more showy in spring with blossoms, others have great autumn colours. There are trees that look very exotic too.

Have a look at Robinia x Slavinii Hillieri. Delicate dappled light canopy that does not take over and cast heavy shade. Early summer flowering which is a bonus. Parrotia Persica, the Persian Ironwood. Winter red flowers with pendulous leaves followed by strong autumn colouring. The bark is also a feature too. 
  • MarlorenaMarlorena East AngliaPosts: 6,400
    You should watch the final episode of Gardeners World where Nick Bailey shows us some newer small trees... the ones I liked very much - well all of them - were
    Malus toringo 'Aros',... purple leafed all summer, pink flowers... 3 metres or so..
    Sorbus vilmorinii 'Pink Charm'.. pink berries.. 3 metres..
    Cercis canadensis 'Forest Pansy'... 3-4 metres
    and a silver birch Betula 'Joes' [pronounced yoss].. about 4 metres...

For a flowering cherry Prunus serrula 'Branklyn', to about 4 metres after 10 years would be another to consider for you..