Novice

Hi, I am an absolute novice to gardening and have a small (and I'm sure simple) question if anybody could help Me? I want to plant maybe a small tree in the corner of our garden, but was wondering that at this time of year (about to be the start of November) would it be able to survive through the winter and grow, or are conditions too harsh at this time? Also any ideas on what the best type of tree/shrub would be to plant in a small corner of a garden at this time of year?? Any information would be helpful, Thanks.

• Allotment BoyAllotment Boy North London Posts: 1,827
    Although we have had some air frosts already the soil will still be warm enough for roots to grow. It is often recommended to plant bare rooted trees & shrubs at this time of year so they can begin to establish their roots without the strain of trying to maintain a top canopy. It does depend a little on your location and conditions but it should be fine.
    AB Still learning

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 3,805
    edited October 2018
    @kieran.betts I always suggest an amelanchier for a small garden.  Blossom in the Spring, followed by berries and good autumn colour. You have come to the right place for advice !
  • Personal choice but I would be looking to plant a small crabapple,lovely blossom and the birds love to eat the fruit in the autumn/winter.
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 3,157
    I second the Amelanchier, a good choice for a small garden.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 53,217
    edited November 2018

We planted this multi-stemmed amelanchier in our smallish garden two years ago last May ... in the spring it's covered with blossom, then it has berries which the birds love, and now, in the autumn, the leaf colour is wonderful .... you can't go wrong with an amelanchier. :D
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 23,677