Compost - to cover or not to cover?

Hi All

I have been making compost for quite a few years - well trying to!  I get maybe two barrow loads after two years of adding, turning, blah blah blah.  I have had some good heat, obviously most notably when the grass cuttings or plant shredding in autumn goes on top.  I have two self constructed wooden cubes with air gaps. Farmers, I think, put black plastic over their heaps in the fields.  So should I do the same and if so would it be worth putting something thicker for greater insulation.  I know it might be awkward when turning but if it improves my yield I can live with it.  BTW I think I do the normal things like green and brown waste and turning, even tried mixing in industrial wood shreddings.  It all works but very slowly.  I live in Dorset but I do not think external temperature that important.  Any thoughts?

Cheers

Bob

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 22,256
    I use a sheet of polythene, to keep moisture in and a layer of old carpet on top for insulation.
    If it's an open top heap, you could put another sheet of plastic on top of the carpet to keep the rain off the carpet.
    Devon.
  • LynLyn DevonPosts: 14,714
    Most things can go on it, junk mail, newspapers food cartons, the smaller you chop/tear  it up the quicker it will work, it does need covering to keep the heat in if you want a quick turnover of usable compost, ours is ready for bagging after 2 months through the summer.  Cover with plastic, thick carpet then galvanised on the top, It will heat up a treat then.
    keep it turned, but be careful as it gets very  hot in the middle. 
    Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 3,695