Sedum

diana 1diana 1 Posts: 99
I took lot's of cuttings this year and one of them was Sedum's. Lucky me I took 20 cuttings and all took but they are now flowering. Do I cut the flower heads off or leave them to flower.

• Kitty 2Kitty 2 ManchesterPosts: 4,424
    I always pinch off any flowers on cuttings diana.
    In my mind it stops the plant putting it's energy into blooming and into stronger root growth instead.

Well done on such successful cuttings👍. I've never tried sedums before. Did you simply pop a leaf in a pot? I might try pinching some off my neighbours plant.
  • diana 1diana 1 Posts: 99
    I thought I needed to pinch out the top growth but wanted to sure.

I used a really sharp knife and cut off close to the plant stem, made up a gritty compost mix, made a slit in the compost and popped them in pushed the compost back round it. If you try it keep them watered but not wet and in a light position but not direct sunlight, mine were on a bright window cill. If you look on the web Carol Klein has a video on how to take them that's how I found out what to do. This is my first year of propagating plant normally only grow veg. Good luck if you give a go it really easy. 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 21,680
    You can do either Diana. They're so easy, and it won't make a lot of difference. More forgiving than many plants, but as Kitty says, generally you'd pinch out [especially at this time of year] and let the cutting become bushier before planting out.

Really easy Kitty. You can pull pieces off and stick them in a little pot of gritty compost and they just grow...like magic  ;)
    to walk through a forest is to touch the past

Thank you Fairygirl, I have now pinched out the flower heads as I want them to bush out. I don't know what I will do with them all as I didn't expect the whole 20 to take. Still I can put a clump of three in the back garden and the same in the front and I expect friend would like some.