New Allotment - How do I clear the grass! 😮

Hi Everyone! 
This is my first post and I would love some advice please. 
I have taken the leap and have taken on an allotment. Being a beginner I have chosen a small plot of 167sq yards. I am so excited to get started but my plot is just grass. Long, thick grass. 
I need to tackle it but I’n Just not sure if the best way. Lots of people have told me to rotivate it but I don’t want to cause more problems along the line. The council has organized the grounds man of the allotment to strim the grass but then it’s down to me. 
At the moment The only plan I have is to let them strim it, clear as much of the grass as I can and then suppress the roots I can’t get to over winter. I really don’t know what else to do! 
Any advise is greatly appreciated! I’ll try and attach a picture of it’s current state. 
Thanks!
Jenny

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 19,472
    edited October 2018
    If you want to save on labour and start planting quickly you can leave the strimmed grass in place and just rake it level if needs be then cover with cardboard - remove any plastic strips and metal staples first.   Weigh it down with bricks or stones to stop it blowing away and make sure it overlaps so all light is blocked and the grass can't grow.

This will suppress weeds and once it's damp you can plant thru it or you can spend winter piling on well-rotted manure or garden compost depending on what you can get and then plant up in spring.   It depends really on what crops you want to grow.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • Thanks Obelixx. I was hoping for a blank canvas so was wanting to completely clear it. The soil underneath seems really good. 🤞🏻 
  • raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 3,778