Chillies

HI.  I have had tremendous success this year with growing chillies, particularly scotch bonnets and they are ripening by the day.  My query is now that the weather is starting to change and get colder overnight, should I pick all the fruit and bring indoors to ripen or should I cover with fleece at night and leave to ripen whilst the sun shines

• wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 2,898
    Are they outdoor plants or in a greenhouse? Do you plan on growing them as perenials or will you sow new plants next year? If you have a sunny window cill I'd bring them indoors and keep the plants fed and growing until about the end of October then cut them back ready to over-winter. If you have limited space you could just pick the healthiest plants to do that.
  • I don't have a greenhouse so grow them in pots along the back of the house where they get the sun most. The pots are too big to bring in and I've never tried to grow chillies from seed before, I usually buy a couple of small plants at £1.50 each. This year I bought more as the first plants didn't do very well at first but now I have 3 huge Scotch Bonnets plus 1 other chilli. There are masses of fruit which I am freezing, drying and blitzing as well as using fresh.  I just don't want to waste such a bountiful supply particularly as they are so hot this year presumably due to the good weather
  • I've bought my Naga chillies and various other chillies indoors now. I've grown them in pots - they must be much smaller than your pots - I've placed them next to a south facing window. 

The nights are too cold and the high winds weren't doing them any good. I mist them with water a few times a day because they like high humidity. If you can't get yours indoors, I would say keep fleece over them at night for now and if the weather gets really cold you best bet is to harvest the mature fruit and leave the young fruit covered with fleece and see if they survive.