Forum home Plants

Cactus/Cacti advice

• BurtsnestBurtsnest North westPosts: 174
    Thank you @Paul B3 there are some stunning varieties on there especially the Melocactus. Hopefully I will keep mine happy.  I'm looking forward to seeing what stage it goes through next if any.

The other cactus I have is below. (I bought them together) This one seems happy too.

The succulent below that I have had for a couple of years however this year has gone mad. Double the size and developed pink hinges on the tips. There's no roots coming through the bottom of the pot however I'm wondering what soil it is. Just for future reference. 

Pst.. ..  I hope I'm not pickling your brain 😆
  • Paul B3Paul B3 Posts: 2,912
    As far as I can tell , your succulent (2nd pic) is an Echeveria of some kind .

I am no expert on these , but there are literally hundreds of species , varieties , hybrids and cultivars available .The Japanese have bred numerous forms of these 'red-tips' .
    Sorry , forgot your cactus !
    Pachycereus pringlei (Cardon Cactus) fits the bill here . Native to Mexico and Baja California , they can attain colossal proportions in habitat . Very variable , some have virtually no spination , others are 'fully-armoured' . Grow fast in g/house conditions ; full sunshine and plenty of water throughout the summer months .
    Hmm.......am still a bit dubious regarding the succulent ID .
    Jeez they can grow huge (in habitat) thankfully. 😂 as for the Echeveria I see what you mean. Having a quick look there are lots that seem similar. Most seem to be in the soil up to the top of the neck of the plant. Mine looks like it's trying to climb out of the pot. One thing I do know it hates water even the smallest amount.  I really appreciate your time with these though. They are fascinating .
    My time is of no consequence if it helps people ID their plants ; thanks for the the thought anyway :) Echeverias are almost impossible to identify correctly .