Forum home The potting shed
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Very interesting discussion on End of Life care - join us

• FireFire Posts: 19,092
    Quoting @ZeroZero1 below

Advanced Directives (see below for new terms) are very good, but the staff involved need to know they exist - unfortunately in the NHS  records are often not transferred with a patient, though, gradually this is getting better in patches.
    Many nurses don't even know what an advanced directive is (I know I am a retired nurse) and many patients don't get ever get asked (have you?) . I am a retired nurse, I once conducted a campaign to ask all patients on our units about this option but the campaign was unsuccessful - we had no uptake.  I don't know objectively, but I came to the conclusion that for heatlhy adults it's too easy to put these decisions out of your mind. Frankly, I am doing this myself! 

Any statement by a patient in regard to end of term care is technically an advance directive - you don't need to be a legal eagle. 

Basically, the NHS should  try to comply with the patients wishes providing they are within the law but.....

a] Those dealing with the care need to be acutually aware of those wishes (no good if they are filed away somewhere esle) and...

b] There is a tsunmami of often conflicting beauracracy around these matters. here is a taster of what staff have to consider: 

https://digital.nhs.uk/binaries/content/.../confidentiality-guide-2013-references.pdf

Even disclosing the existence of Advanced Directives to relatives is difficult. Not all relatives are sympathetic and supportive (as the stereotype suggests) and not all patients would wish to share this information with all of their family. 

Rule of thumb is to make your wishes clear, in writing preferably and let the NHS consider the matters and respond.