Forum home Problem solving

How to find or create green material for the compost heap when everything is brown

mmjgriffithsmmjgriffiths South of the South DownsPosts: 4
I am new to my allotment and have only cultivated about half of it.

In the recent dry weather spell, all the grass and weeds on my (only partially controlled at the moment) allotment are completely desiccated. I have been digging them up and adding the innocuous parts to a new compost heap, but as I understand it, dry grass counts as a brown material for the compost heap.  If this is correct, then my compost heap is entirely made of brown material.

How can I get or create some green material for the compost heap in this drought (I'm not going to start watering the weeds!)?

I understand there are some green manures that might be appropriate; is that a good idea, or will it end up depleting the soil that I will end up adding the compost back onto (is this a zero sum game)? Maybe I don't need to worry so much about the balance anyway? I want to make a balanced heap, but nothing that can be composted is green! Any suggestions most welcome.

• wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 8,058
    Can you take a trip to the seaside and get some seaweed? Or ask a friendly farmer for some manure (better if it's been rotted for a while already).
    Some people bring joy wherever they go. Others, whenever they go. - Mark Twain.
  • mmjgriffithsmmjgriffiths South of the South DownsPosts: 4
    I hadn't thought of seaweed! Yes, I live near the sea - that's definitely doable. Everyone in the neighbouring allotments has warned me that manure (it's all horse manure around here) can contain herbicides and e-coli... maybe seaweed will cause less controversy than manure, even if their fears are unfounded! Thanks for the suggestion! Should I wash the salt off first?
  • FireFire North LondonPosts: 15,724