Irrigation system-Large garden

I would like to surprise my Mom with an irrigation system for her garden, 
It is a big garden and take 30-40 mins to water with a hose. 
Could anyone please recommend a sprinkler or irrigation system for a large garden?

Thanks all :)

• FireFire LondonPosts: 5,040
    Hi DS. My first thought is that your mum might have quite specific requirements of an irrigation system. They have all sorts of quirks and possible options. They seem to work easiest in straight beds with plants grown in straight lines. If your mum has lots of pots or raised beds at different heights her requirements would be different. I would think it could be useful to give her a gift voucher for a system and choose one together, once you have worked out exactly how best to use it and what the specific needs are. She might also really like watering (lots of people do), but you would know best on that matter.

But then I'm a researcher at heart. Maybe other people would recommend one right off. If it's a simple garden layout, at one height, with a good tap, it might be straight forward.
  • UpNorthUpNorth South Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK Posts: 295
    i share the pain, 40-50 minutes every evening at the moment.  three different hose pipes and some more walking with cans, and i also pull a trolley with two trugs full of water down to an area....it's a pain....on the plus side, the grass isn't growing.  

i can't imagine any way in which an irrigation system would cover the maybe 15 or so separate garden areas (and hiding pipes) without me immediately spading through a pipe next time i am working in an area.

best thing you can do is maybe give her a hand if you're nearby.   or maybe add a further length of hose to an area which might mean less dragging hoses around.....and another idea, maybe more 'oscillating' sprinklers so one area can be done whilst you walk away from it.