Forum home Fruit & veg

Runner bean question

nicd38nicd38 Posts: 23
Hi. 
Just spotted these on my bean leaves . 
Iv heard about different issues it could be. 
Should i be worried about the white spots that seem to have appeared? 
if so, anything i can do to sort it ? 

New grower here, so very inexperienced, sorry. 

• herbaceousherbaceous Posts: 2,314
    I am no expert nicd but I would be looking underneath the leaves for miners or mites? If there are signs of animal molestation then it could be they were scorched? Runner Beans are prolific but picky, they need moisture but not wet and hate big temp changes. They can be scorched by sun, wind and rain.

Someone else with more nouse might have some better ideas, meanwhile good luck!
    "The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett
  • nicd38nicd38 Posts: 23
    it has been really nasty weather here with week.  I put them out at the weekend, while it was quite hot .  ( this is uk, so not that hot lol ) 
    and since then, we have had thunder storms almost daily. 
    Could that be a factor ? 
    They certainly won't appreciate the big temp and moisture changes, were they hardened off outdoors? I would keep an eye on the newer leaves  and just be sure they aren't going the same way, if its just the leaves that were there when you planted them out its probably the change in growing conditions. Hang on in there they will probably be OK, I don't plant mine out 'til June usually but I do give them a bit of feed while they are still in their pots, need them BIG to withstand slug attacks! Seed compost might be bit thin when they get a few leaves so they might be really happy now they're outdoors.

Watch and wait.
    "The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett