Green Tulips

alexspeed78alexspeed78 Posts: 10
I have green tulips in my garden. I planted tulips of various colours but some have come up green. One would have been a surprise but I now have 14. they have a thicker petal than the other tulips and have a rim of pink at the tip. I have been gardening for over 50 years and never seen anything like them. Are they a proper tulip? One I would have said was a malformation but to have 14 seems a lot considering the rest of the tulips are perfect blooms.

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 6,144
    Green tulips do exist.

If you want me You can find me
    Left of center Off of the strip
    In the outskirts In the fringes In the corner
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 49,294
    There are lots of 'viridiflora' varieties of tulips ... take a look here and see if you can see any like yours 

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=viridiflora+tulip+types&rlz=1C1PRFC_enGB734GB735&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjDvpuuz4XbAhUkJMAKHagADzcQsAQIJg&biw=1093&bih=530 

Presumably one of the packs you bought had been mislabelled.  
    “I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.” ~Charles Dickens

• alexspeed78alexspeed78 Posts: 10
    Nothing there to resemble them.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 49,294
    Can we see a photo of yours please  :)
    “I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.” ~Charles Dickens

• Silver surferSilver surfer Posts: 984
    Perthshire. SCOTLAND .
  • FireFire LondonPosts: 4,512
    edited 14 May
    A friend gave me some cabbage tulips, which I duly planted, because he gave me them. They came up a bit like the below. Totally green. I peaked inside the buds and they were all green inside too to start with. Then over about a month they opened in mad gold and red stripes.