Forum home Problem solving

How can I save my destroyed lawn?!

Jess.halmshawJess.halmshaw Posts: 2
edited May 2018 in Problem solving
Hi all! 

im a newbie here and know nothing absolutely gardening! This is the first garden I have ever owned so bear with me. 

Our lab puppy (who is now over a year old) has destroyed the lawn during his house training period (weeing and pooing on the grass) the grass is dead and burned from the urine. He now goes toilet on all of his walks rather than the garden and I want to save it.

its a new build house so the grass laid out was new. So far I have dug up the bald patches with a pitchfork and spreaded "dog spot" on which is a combination of grass seees and a chemical that is supposed to neutralise the burns from dog urine. That was a few weeks ago and so far nothing has happened.

Can anyone please advise on how I can redeem my lawn? Summers coming and I'd love to sit out there but at the moment it's such a state! 

I have attached pictures. 

Thank you. 

• FireFire North LondonPosts: 17,116
    Welcome. The pictures haven't loaded. Could you try again?
  • Dave HumbyDave Humby HampshirePosts: 1,142
    There are several products on the market which are meant to reduce the nitrogen concentration in the pee but I think most folks have found them ineffective in general.

Where possible I use a watering can to dilute the pee straight away but of course you can't monitor the dog all of the time and continually chase them around after them!

My solution, which I saw on TV (may have been GW) is to grow new 'lawn' in a seed tray. I then cut out the damaged lawn and replace with a section from the seed tray which I then re-fill and reseed the tray and follow this cycle. I keep two trays on the go and this covers the need through the drier months. In the winter you (generally) don't need to worry as there is enough moisture in the ground to do the dilution on it's own. 
  • Blue OnionBlue Onion Posts: 2,933