Forum home Problem solving

Gravel board problem

Hello, I'm a novice and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas how to solve the following:

Our garden is lower than our neighbours, it is banked at the fence. I need to level my garden but this will mean the existing gravel board isn't deep enough and I imagine will risk next doors garden spilling into ours under the fence over time. 

Is there an easy solution to this without replacing the fence? My initial thought was to add a deeper gravel board by attaching it to the existing one our our side. Thanks in advance for your help.

I have attached a photo with a small section dug out to show the depth that I am working with.

• simbrindsimbrind Posts: 16
    Also, the fence posts are wooden and not concrete, so I can't add concrete board
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,269
    edited April 2018
    I can't see why your solution of adding a lower board will be a problem, and it will give you the opportunity to create a Hedgehog Tunnel  :)

https://www.hedgehogstreet.org/help-hedgehogs/link-your-garden/
    Concrete boards are disastrous for hedgehogs and are hastening their decline  :'(

One point to watch is the fence posts ... how deep are they ... lowering the garden on one side may weaken them.  Don't want the fence to come crashing down!  Our neighbour's garden on one side is higher than ours ... we have a metre wide bank supported by sleepers alongside that fence which we treat as a raised bed.  

On the other side of our garden the neighbours' garden is lower ... our builder built up a wall of concrete blocks to stabilise the bank that side and our fence posts go through the blocks and down into the soil.  
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 6,329