Forum home Garden design

New to gardening and New garden

Hi all
In the last couple of months I moved into a house with a front and back garden!  I am  a complete novice to gardening and my old patio yard had three planters, a couple of chairs, cafe table and chimnea thing.

As you can see from the photos, the house is three years old and the previous owners did nothing with the garden.

Ive managed to pull all the weeds from the stones and between the slabs and thats as far as i got this weekend as I did the front garden as well (I have that one in the bag as its fiarly small).  I have several problems / thoughts and after reading this forum to do the front to hopefully good success, I wondered if anyone had any hints and tips for the rear. 

Thoughts:
> Put decking in the top corner to sit a square table and 4 chairs.  Go along two fence panels and down one panel.

> Dig out all the grass in the bottom coner after the retaining wall ends and etend the bottom patio up into the grass and extend the retaining wall

Problems:
> The moss - The water runs down the garden and is boggy as a result leaving loads of moss growing. 

> Its not rained for days and we have had sun and its still sucking in the water from the noise coming from the garden.  Under the 'grass' it is pure clay.  No topsoil from what I can see.  Due to it being so boggy it also means that its still too wet to cut, despite some areas being in real need. 

> The grass by the bottom step is waterlogged and full of weeds so will hinder any growth and the grass that grows is very weedy and not real grass

> I have two man holes I cant cover up - one just behind the retaining wall and one in the grass. Unfortunately I havent opened them to see what way these run through the garden yet but limits our options as to what we can do obviously as access will be required