Forum home Problem solving

How to lower soils PH for blueberry

kristine015kristine015 Northern Ireland Belfast UKPosts: 66
Hi everyone thank you for reading this. recently I bought 3 blueberry bluecrop. Very nice and healthy. I bought eracacious and mini bark chips and replanted the blue berries. It’s only been two days but from my research the soil is supposed to have a PH level of between 4-6. However my ph reading is showing 7 all the time!! They have started to sprout some leaves and I am scared I am doing it all wrong and the fact that the PH isn’t between 4-6. 

Could someone please advice me on what I should do to lower the PH of my soil the safest way. I have heard of using distilled vinegar but not a permanent solution and I am not sure if this is safe for my blueberries. This is my first time growing blueberries. Any future adviced will be much appreciated thank you so so much. 

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. -A. Einstein 

• kristine015kristine015 Northern Ireland Belfast UKPosts: 66
    Just bought sulphur from ebay. Hopefully it’ll work it’s wonders when it gets here. Thanks everyone 

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. -A. Einstein 
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 9,861
    I'm growing blueberries this year for the 1st time.
    Don't use vinegar - at all it'll cause all sorts of problems.
    Sulphur (as above) is an option, but be certain that your compost is not acidic already.
    Are you using rain water for your plants? rw is best as it is slightly acidic. Tap water here is around pH8-9 so quite alkaline and wouldn't suit them at all.
    I've used those sort of meters before and found them to be hopelessly inaccurate.

I used miracle-grow ericaceous compost and I water with rainwater - I wont bother testing the pH as I know the compost is acidic as is the rainwater I'm using.
    I'll add some fertilizer for ericaceous plants about a month after re-potting.