Forum home Problem solving

Gardening Good for the heart and soul

Dear Gardening Friends, I was just interested to hear if anyone has a health condition, and how gardening has helped you in some way. I have Crohn's disease, I sadly lost my mother to the condition as well. I have had it ten years this year. I have had good and some very bad days, but getting into gardening after I lost my mother has helped me and my condition immensely. I am an amateur gardener, self taught, I watch each and every gardening programme going. And I am passionate about gardening and my garden. I love seeing all of your beautiful pictures on here. And the lovely comments that we give to each other and help and advice as well. To nourish a little seed and to watch it grow from strength to strength is one of natures beautiful things. As is the wildlife in our gardens. With all that is going on in the world at the moment, and for all our aches and pains. Gardening is magical, inspirational, healing, and puts a smile on my face. 

• LiriodendronLiriodendron Scariff, County Clare, IrelandPosts: 7,850
    Well said, Jacqueline!  I'm lucky enough not to have problems with my health, other than the normal aches and pains associated with my age - but gardening is wonderful for brightening my mood, and putting any problems in perspective.   :)
    "The one who plants trees, knowing that he will never sit in their shade, has at least started to understand the meaning of life."  Rabindranath Tagore
  • Singing GardenerSinging Gardener EssexPosts: 1,214
    I was diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease last year and my initial reaction was that I would have to sell up, give up the garden (which is basically most of my life) and buy a soulless apartment somewhere. But then I realised that I can still do all the things I could before my condition had a name, albeit sometimes a bit more slowly, so why should I give it up.