Forum home Problem solving

Wobbly Soil!

Firstly a disclaimer - I'm pretty new to gardening and this is my first post. Please be kind!

So, the problem... I had a patch of lawn I wanted to plant up with wildflower / grass seed mix. I followed the instructions, and in December time I removed the turf and dug out all weeds, mixed in some compost and covered the soil over winter. 3 months later I've gone back to gently tread down the soil and even it out a bit before adding the seed mix and I found when I trod on my boards that I started to sink!

We've obviously been hit by rain and snow in the past weeks and whilst this area of garden never seemed to suffer from standing water before it seems like it has been a magnet for the water over the winter. The soil is like jelly - I can wobble it! I don't see water on the surface though.

How big of a problem is this? Will it naturally dry out or should I try to do something else to speed up the drying or help aid the drainage? Whilst the rest of the lawn is still a tad damp, nothing is close to as bad as the area I have "prepared."

Thanks for your advice,
Kevin

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,290
    edited March 2018
    Hi Kevin  :)  This sounds like something that occurs from time to time in @Hostafan1 's garden ... indeed we've been there and bounced up and down on what seems like a waterbed-type mattress.  
    Hopefully he'll see this post and pass on his thoughts ...
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• WaysideWayside Posts: 807
    I've a very dry garden (on chalk), but after lots of rain, the consistency changes greatly.  The recent frost lifted a lot of the garden too, and parts with lots of organic matter move when walked on.  But it's not like a water bed.  A week of dry weather and it will be like dust again.