Forum home The potting shed

Complete beginner wanting advice

Hi everyone, this is my first post on here. I am a complete beginner to gardening but would love a pretty garden for my 18 month old. When she’s a bit older I would love to grow fruit and veg in some big planters but to start me off I am just looking at getting two tall plant pots to go either end of our patio. I would like some colourful flowers (maybe that attract butterflies?) we literally have no plants or shrubs in our garden at the moment. my mom was a keen gardener and I remember her saying it’s a good idea to drill holes in the bottom of the plant pot for drainage? Or did I get that wrong? Also is it best to buy some bricks at the bottom to weigh it down (to stop it falling on daughter) and also for drainage? Also what soil do i use? Will I have to replace plants every year? Sorry to be so vague. Look forward to reading your replies :) 

• raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 3,913

Yes to the holes in the bottom.

Yes to 'crocks' (broken pieces of pottery) or broken bricks or stones or gravel as a drainage layer at the bottom and as you say, stones or broken bricks may help make the pot more stable.

In your local garden centre you'll find they sell bags of compost with various different purposes. Use either 'multi-purpose' compost, or one specifically for tubs and containers or if you plan to plant shrubs in your pots, a 'tree and shrub' compost.

Whatever you plant and whichever compost you use, the 'food' in it will only last about 6 weeks. So if you want your plants to keep flowering, you'll need to start feeding them every two weeks or so after that first 6 weeks.

You can plant either perennial plants which you wouldn't have to replace every year. One option could be to get a buddleia 'buzz' - which is a dwarf buddleia shrub. The butterflies loves those.