Small ugly garden with potential

imageHey,

I am a very amateur gardener, who dithers a lot. We moved into our new house at the end of August and had to do a lot to it. The previous owners left it in a dump, including the garden. There was dog mess everywhere, which stunk, bricks, broken fence parts and this monstrous shed that dominates the garden.

I've attached a photo of the garden - new turf laid by the hubby  ( it's filled out nicely now and doesn't look like a jigsaw!), the brick wall has come down and the broken fence panels have been replaced with new willow trellis on top part. I can't remove the shed (yet) so that has to stay put. When we eventually get rid of it, we won't be able to dig up the foundations either so it will probably be good ol' decking and lots of pots.

It is south facing with loamy soil. 

This is where I dither...

I want to paint/stain shed and fence - a warm grey. Then have 2 or 3 separate raised beds where the brick wall was. Inbetween the raised beds, I was thinking of putting ornamental trees or a climbing rose or something that can climb/train (we're friendly with the neighbours but want some privacy). 

I would love railway sleeper raised beds but we won't be able to afford it. I have looked at breeze blocks (either rendered or painted white with a wooden trim along the top. Use a liner to protect for longer. Hubby is also quite keen on a bit of pallet upcycling. I don't know if that would last as long? 

This is where i dither: I like Mediterranean style gardens (purples, whites, silver but want a pop of colour). I also want plants that are good for the bees. Has anyone got any suggestions for the space.

I have two children under two.

Thanks

Last edited: 20 February 2018 14:36:45

• imageimage

Last edited: 20 February 2018 14:39:54

• Trying to upload a photo but can't seem to view it.. apologies if there are about 30!

imageimage

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 53,942